

No. 32

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

First Session

Twenty-Ninth Legislature

Thursday, December 10, 2015

The Speaker took the Chair at 9:00 a.m.

# **Apology by Member**

Mr. Fildebrandt, Hon. Member for Strathmore-Brooks, made a statement withdrawing and apologizing for statements or tweets recently made with respect to the Speaker both inside and outside of the Assembly.

### **Government Bills and Orders**

### Third Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 6 Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act — Hon. Mr. Mason on behalf of Hon. Ms Sigurdson

Mr. Cooper, Hon. Member for Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute.

A debate followed.

Mr. Jean, Hon. Leader of the Official Opposition, moved that the motion be amended by deleting all the words after "that" and substituting the following:

Bill 6, Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act, be not now read a Third time but that it be read a Third time this day six months hence.

A debate followed on the amendment.

Mr. Schmidt moved adjournment of the debate on the amendment, which was agreed to.

#### **Government Motions**

28. Oral notice having been given on December 8, 2015, moved by Hon. Mr. Mason:

Be it resolved that, when further consideration of Bill 6, Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act, is resumed, not more than one hour shall be allotted to any further consideration of the Bill in Third Reading, at which time every question necessary for the disposal of the Bill at this stage shall be put forthwith.

Pursuant to Standing Order 21(3), Mr. Cooper commented on the time allocation motion.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Hon. Mr. Wanner in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 41

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Gray Miller Carlier Hinkley Miranda Carson Hoffman Payne Ceci Horne Piquette Connolly Jabbour Renaud Coolahan Kleinsteuber Rosendahl Sabir Cortes-Vargas Larivee Dach Littlewood Schmidt Dang Lovola Sigurdson Luff Sucha Drever Eggen Malkinson Sweet Feehan Mason Turner Ganley McCuaig-Boyd Westhead McPherson Goehring

Against the motion: 29

Aheer Hunter Rodney Anderson (Highwood) Jansen Schneider Barnes Jean Smith Starke Cooper Loewen Cyr MacIntyre Stier Drysdale McIver Strankman Ellis Nixon **Taylor** Fildebrandt Orr van Dijken Gotfried Panda Yao

Hanson Pitt

### **Government Bills and Orders**

## **Third Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 6 Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act — Hon. Ms Sigurdson

Debate continued on the amendment introduced by Mr. Jean, Hon. Leader of the Official Opposition, on December 10, 2015, that the motion be amended by deleting all the words after "that" and substituting the following:

Bill 6, Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act, be not now read a Third time but that it be read a Third time this day six months hence.

Pursuant to Government Motion 28 agreed to on December 10, 2015, and Standing Order 21(1), at 11:22 a.m. the question was immediately put on the amendment to the motion for Third Reading of Bill 6, Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act, which was defeated. With Hon. Mr. Wanner in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 29

Aheer Hunter Rodney Schneider Anderson (Highwood) Jansen Barnes Jean Smith Starke Cooper Loewen Stier Cyr MacIntyre Drysdale McIver Strankman Ellis Nixon **Taylor** Fildebrandt Orr van Dijken Gotfried Panda Yao Hanson Pitt

Against the amendment: 44

Miranda Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Gray Bilous Hinkley Notley Carlier Hoffman Payne Piquette Carson Horne Ceci Jabbour Renaud Connolly Kleinsteuber Rosendahl Schmidt Coolahan Larivee Cortes-Vargas Littlewood Shepherd Dach Loyola Sigurdson Luff Sucha Dang Drever Malkinson Swann Eggen Mason Sweet Turner Feehan McCuaig-Boyd Ganley McPherson Westhead

Goehring Miller

Pursuant to Government Motion 28 agreed to on December 10, 2015, and Standing Order 21(1), at 11:28 a.m. the question was immediately put on the motion for Third Reading of Bill 6, Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act, which was agreed to. With Hon. Mr. Wanner in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 44

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Gray Miranda **Bilous** Hinkley Notley Carlier Hoffman Payne Piquette Carson Horne Ceci Jabbour Renaud Connolly Kleinsteuber Rosendahl Coolahan Larivee Schmidt Cortes-Vargas Littlewood Shepherd Loyola Sigurdson Dach Luff Sucha Dang Drever Malkinson Swann Sweet Eggen Mason Feehan McCuaig-Boyd Turner McPherson Westhead Ganley

Goehring Miller

Against the motion: 29

Aheer Hunter Rodney  $Anderson \ ({\it Highwood})$ Jansen Schneider Barnes Jean Smith Starke Cooper Loewen Cyr MacIntyre Stier Drysdale McIver Strankman Ellis Nixon **Taylor** Fildebrandt Orr van Dijken Gotfried Panda Yao Hanson Pitt

The following Bill was read a Third time and passed:

Bill 6 Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers Act — Hon. Ms Sigurdson

# Adjournment

Pursuant to Government Motion 14 agreed to on December 1, 2015, and on advice by Hon. Mr. Mason, Government House Leader, to the Assembly that the business for the Fall Sitting is concluded, the Assembly adjourned at 11:36 a.m. until February 2016.

Hon. Robert E. Wanner, Speaker

Title: Thursday, December 10, 2015